Fuse box/CJB

Calls for help, Problems, Breakdowns, Mechanical & Electrical
Post Reply
User avatar
hangman3
Forum Contributor
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2017 5:59 pm
Car Details: D2

Fuse box/CJB

Post by hangman3 » Mon Mar 19, 2018 5:31 pm

I think its possible that some of my electrical issues could be due to a dickey fuse box/CJB.
There seems to be a few different part numbers for this. Does anyone know which one I would need to operate correctly on a late 07 2.7 TDV6 manual? I think I have narrowed it down to YQE500420. Does anyone also know in which way they differ, is it by year, by Fuel type gear type or spec?
I could take mine out & check first but that would mean that the car would be off road until I got the part, or I would have to do the job twice.



User avatar
anglefire
Site Admin
Posts: 19053
Joined: Sat May 15, 2010 8:01 pm
Winner: Club Member of Year 2012 & 13
Car Details: BMW 530d M Sport
Member Since: 17 May 2010
Location: Solihull, West Midlands
Contact:

Re: Fuse box/CJB

Post by anglefire » Mon Mar 19, 2018 7:27 pm

Changing the CJB is not just a case of swapping it. It has to be pre-programmed with your VIN and then have your keys programmed to it once installed. They are to order to which can be 2weeks.

But yes it can be a cause of some issues. My wipers used to do a odd wipe when turning off the engine. New cjb sorted that out.


Mark

Waeco CFX 40
BMW 530d M Sport Touring, 1977 Triumph Spitfire 1500
2006 disco3 SE. Gone but not forgotten.
Member of Admin team and :ugeek:
Disco3Club Photos: Here

User avatar
hangman3
Forum Contributor
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2017 5:59 pm
Car Details: D2

Re: Fuse box/CJB

Post by hangman3 » Mon Mar 19, 2018 9:52 pm

I have the equipment for programing keys, but how does the other bit work? Does it have to be programed at LR? Like , is it something they do on the shelf as such or can it be done in the car?
Questions questions questions.



User avatar
anglefire
Site Admin
Posts: 19053
Joined: Sat May 15, 2010 8:01 pm
Winner: Club Member of Year 2012 & 13
Car Details: BMW 530d M Sport
Member Since: 17 May 2010
Location: Solihull, West Midlands
Contact:

Re: Fuse box/CJB

Post by anglefire » Mon Mar 19, 2018 10:38 pm

The cjb is programmed by LR. When I had mine changed I just let Tim Knight at http://alltrack4x4.com do it all - wasn’t worth trying to do it myself


Mark

Waeco CFX 40
BMW 530d M Sport Touring, 1977 Triumph Spitfire 1500
2006 disco3 SE. Gone but not forgotten.
Member of Admin team and :ugeek:
Disco3Club Photos: Here

User avatar
hangman3
Forum Contributor
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2017 5:59 pm
Car Details: D2

Re: Fuse box/CJB

Post by hangman3 » Thu Mar 29, 2018 8:07 am

Is this the same with other modules?



XDAndy
Elected Club Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2018 9:41 am
Car Details: MY05 2.7 TDV HSE
Member Since: 14 Mar 2018

Re: Fuse box/CJB

Post by XDAndy » Thu Mar 29, 2018 10:27 am

Hangman, do you have an IIDTool?

Gap have this on their support site
TDV6 ECU replacement with a used unit
It is now possible to replace a TDV6 engine ECU with a used unit. This includes the security learning process.

This feature is only available with an IIDTool. No other diagnostic devices can perform this task. Available upon request only.
Now, at the very real risk of displaying my considerable ignorance, I have no idea if “ECU” means CJB is possible as well.

But if you do have an IIDTool, or looking for an excuse to get one, might be worth dropping GAP tech support an email telling them what you want to try to do, and asking them if it is possible and how to do it.

Kind regards


Andy



User avatar
hangman3
Forum Contributor
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2017 5:59 pm
Car Details: D2

.

Post by hangman3 » Thu Mar 29, 2018 4:22 pm

.
Last edited by hangman3 on Thu Mar 29, 2018 4:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.



User avatar
hangman3
Forum Contributor
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2017 5:59 pm
Car Details: D2

Re: Fuse box/CJB

Post by hangman3 » Thu Mar 29, 2018 4:23 pm

XDAndy wrote:
Thu Mar 29, 2018 10:27 am
Hangman, do you have an IIDTool?

Gap have this on their support site
TDV6 ECU replacement with a used unit
It is now possible to replace a TDV6 engine ECU with a used unit. This includes the security learning process.

This feature is only available with an IIDTool. No other diagnostic devices can perform this task. Available upon request only.
Now, at the very real risk of displaying my considerable ignorance, I have no idea if “ECU” means CJB is possible as well.

But if you do have an IIDTool, or looking for an excuse to get one, might be worth dropping GAP tech support an email telling them what you want to try to do, and asking them if it is possible and how to do it.

Kind regards


Andy
I have 3 options as such.
I have a Nanocom, Which is open for D2 TD5 and CAN BUS, but I know this cant do it so not realy an option.
I also have a Snapon Ethos Tech which I am not sure about yet, and then I have JLR SDD which Landrover today informed me would do it but I have not found how yet, so if anyone does, could you please tell.



XDAndy
Elected Club Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2018 9:41 am
Car Details: MY05 2.7 TDV HSE
Member Since: 14 Mar 2018

Re: Fuse box/CJB

Post by XDAndy » Tue Apr 03, 2018 9:42 pm

not watched in completeness



does that help at all?



Post Reply